CNS-CP Recertification

The certified status of a Clinical Nurse Specialist is conferred by CCI for a period of five years, at which time a CNS-CP may seek recertification. The recertification process requires a CNS-CP to complete recertification activities during the accrual period and meet recertification eligibility requirements.

  • Recognizes the individual Clinical Nurse Specialist who is proficient in practice.
  • Supports the development of theoretical constructs which strengthen advanced perioperative nursing practice.
  • Enhances professional development through continued learning that results in acquisition of current knowledge to expand advanced practice skill sets.

Recertification Cycle

Application Process

CNS-CP Recertification Steps


Check your eligibility (this differs from requirements for first-time certification)


Complete recertification requirements during your accrual period


Submit application, documents and pay fee


Begin next 5-year certification cycle


Recertification Eligibility Requirements

Recognizing that certificants transition into a variety of roles, and all patients benefit from the care provided by a certified nurse, CNS-CP recertification candidates must meet the following eligibility requirements at the time of application:

  • Hold an active CNS-CP credential.
  • Hold a current, unrestricted RN and/or APRN license.
  • Be currently employed as a CNS in the perioperative setting in one or more of the following areas:
    • Clinical expert in delivery of advanced perioperative care
    • Consultant (intra- and multidisciplinary)
    • Educator of nurses, other healthcare providers, patient, family, and/or community
    • Researcher



Accrual Period

Your accrual period is the time period in which you must complete recertification activities. It begins on January 1 of the year you became certified or recertified, and continues through December 31 of the fifth calendar year.

Enter your initial certification year or last recertification year in the table below to calculate your accrual period.

Calculate Your Accrual Period

My Accrual Period
Recert Year
Jan 1 of Year 1
Year 2
Year 3
Year 4
Dec 31 of Year 5
Recertify Jan 1 - Dec 31
Start Here

Dates populated are dependent on the accuracy of the certification or recertification year you entered. For personalized information, please contact us.

background image


Recertification By Professional Activities

Complete professional development activities during your five-year accrual period and submit your application during your recertification year. For more information on the recertification process and your options, attend one of our live recertification webinars.


Recertification by Continuing Education and Professional Activities

  • Complete 300 Professional Activity points
  • Complete your continuing education contact hour requirement based on the results of your CNS-CP exam or the self-awareness component of your Professional Portfolio
  • Complete 1000 hours as a CNS in the perioperative setting in the 5-year recertification cycle. If the number of practice hours accrued during the recertification cycle does not meet the minimum requirement, you must recertify by Professional Portfolio.
  • Practice hours may be accrued in any of the following areas:
    • clinical expert in delivery of advanced perioperative care
    • consultant (intra-and multidisciplinary)
    • education of nurses, other healthcare providers, patient, family, and/or community
    • clinical inquiry (evidence-based practice projects and/or research)

To apply for recertification by this method, complete the Recertification by Contact Hours and Activities Application with Log and submit to CCI.

background image
angled background


Emeritus Status

Retiring nurses or those moving out of the specialty may choose to preserve their credential by applying for Emeritus status or CNS-CP(E).

The Emeritus credential does not expire or need to be renewed. You must currently hold the CNS-CP credential in good standing to apply for the CNS-CP Emeritus status.

Download the paper application to apply for Emeritus Status between January 1 and December 31 of your recertification year.

angled background


Recertification Application and Fees

Recertification by Continuing Education and Professional Activities
CNS-CP Emeritus
CNOR Discount

CNS-CP certificants who also hold the CNOR credential receive a $50 discount on their CNS-CP recertification (excludes CNS-CP Emeritus).

angled background

Get Prepared

Recertification Resources

CNS CP Handbook

CNS-CP Handbook

The complete guide on the CNS-CP credential including eligibility requirements.

icon exam prep questions

CCI Staff Support

CCI's nursing staff is available to answer questions about eligibility or the portfolio process.

angled background