Specialty Certification

Certification and Professional Development

We understand the unique challenges you face educating nurses about specialty certification and providing the tools they need to pursue certification. CCI is your partner to easily prepare nurses for CNOR, CSSM, CNS-CP, CNAMB, CFPN and NPDA-BC certification.

Certification Overview

CFPN Certification

Earning the CFPN entails a diversity of assessments, reflective learning activities, and a knowledge-based exam—a total of four key components that will guide the early career of a perioperative nurse.

FastTrack 01

Assesses the knowledge and skills of an early career perioperative nurse with under 23 months of experience from initial hire date in the OR

CNOR Certification

More than 40,000 nurses currently hold the CNOR credential and consider the designation a personal and professional accomplishment.

why certify cnor

Assesses the knowledge and skills of a perioperative nurse with a minimum of two years of clinical practice.

CNOR Take 2 Program

The CNOR Take 2 program allows a CNOR-eligible nurse to take the exam twice in a 12-month period if the first attempt is unsuccessful. CCI offers volume discounts for health systems seeking to certify multiple nurses. Download the CNOR Take 2 Facility Enrollment Forms to enroll.


CNAMB Certification

Designed for perioperative nurses working in the ambulatory surgery setting who are seeking to improve and validate their professional competencies.

CNAMB Why Certify

Assesses the knowledge and skills of a perioperative nurse with a minimum of two years of clinical practice in the ambulatory surgery setting.

CNAMB Take 2 Program

The CNAMB Take 2 program allows a CNAMB-eligible nurse to sit for the exam twice in a 12-month period if the first attempt is unsuccessful. Learn about volume discounts for enrolling multiple nurses from the same health system. Download the CNAMB Take 2 Facility Enrollment Forms to begin.


CSSM Certification

Join an elite group of current and emerging leaders demonstrating their perioperative nursing competency beyond clinical practice.

why certify cssm

For perioperative managers, directors and nurses who oversee personnel, a budget, business unit or service line.

CNS-CP Certification

Bridge the gap between APRN certification and specialty practice by validating your perioperative competency at an advanced practice level.

why certify cnscp

Validates the achievement of the advanced practice Clinical Nurse Specialist working in the perioperative setting.

NPDA-BC Certification

Earning the NPDA-BC demonstrates commitment to accountability to the healthcare consumer/partner through the promotion of learning, change and professional role competence and growth of healthcare personnel.

NPDA-BC Certification by Portfolio

Acknowledges the professional achievement of a nursing professional development specialist who fulfills all NPD roles and responsibilities while demonstrating adherence to professional practice and performance standards.

Promote Certification in Your Facility

Certification Kit

Request a complimentary certification kit to promote certification within your facility. Certification kits include certification and recertification flyers as well as assorted giveaway items. Perfect for hospital celebrations, in-services, and other facility events. Visit our online store to learn more and request your kit today.


Certification Coaches Program

CCI’s Coaches’ program creates mentoring opportunities for certified nurses to promote certification at their facilities. Coaches guide the certification process by sharing their experiences and knowledge, and motivating other nurses with helpful tools from CCI.

Coach Logo   2022 8

Help Your Nurses Maintain Their Credentials

The rapid rate of change in the modern perioperative setting requires a conscious effort to maintain competency. To demonstrate continued dedication to perioperative excellence, nurses may recertify their credentials. Recertification requirements are unique for each credential. Learn more about CNOR recertification, CSSM recertification, CNS-CP recertification, and CNAMB recertification. The CFPN is a one-time credential with no recertification mechanism.

icon recertify checklist

Free Professional Points Activities

As a partner in recertification, CCI offers resources to simplify the process of completing professional activities that count towards recertification requirements. Nurses can visit the CCI Store for free educational activities worth points towards CNOR, CSSM, and CNAMB recertification.