Cart / Checkout

About Us

The Competency & Credentialing Institute (CCI) is a leader in credentialing, nursing competency assessment, and education for the perioperative nursing community since 1979.  CCI has developed and maintained the CNOR, CSSM, CRNFA, and CNS-CP credentials for more than 35 years.  We currently certify more than 33,950 nurses.  

CCI supports these credentialing programs with a suite of publications, exam preparation resources, certificate programs and CE offerings. CCI is committed to upholding standards of excellence that guarantee extraordinary and safe care for all surgical patients.

Vision Statement

A growing community of lifelong learners for whom CCI is a catalyst and integral partner.

Mission Statement

To lead competency credentialing that promotes safe, quality patient care and professional development through lifelong learning.

What is Specialty Nursing Certification

  • The formal process by which a certifying agency validates a nurse’s knowledge, skills, and abilities in a defined role and clinical area of practice
  • Profession’s recognition of achievement, expertise and clinical judgment
  • Based on predetermined standards
  • Achieved through specialized education, experience in a specialty area and passing a qualifying exam
  • Accredited specialty nursing certification is THE standard by which the public recognizes quality nursing care

CNOR, CSSM, CRNFA and CNS-CP Are the Gold Standard

CCI’s CNOR, CSSM, CRNFA and CNS-CP credentialing programs are the gold standard in perioperative nursing certification.